Did you know that driving laws differ from state to state?  Speed limits are obvious differences because they are posted. Unless you look up your state’s laws you may not know about some of the more unique laws.  The list would be very long if we listed all 50 state’s unique laws so we have chosen to highlight three southeastern states, AL, GA and SC because Classic Collision has shops in all three states.  Did you know 

  1. In Alabama you cannot drive blindfolded.  Really?  Who would do that in any state?  Someone must have and now its a law in Alabama so be aware and leave your blindfold at home.
  2. In Georgia
    a. (Dublin specifically) it is illegal to drive through a playground, unless you obtain written permission. This means you can do it, but you must prepare to do so.
    b.
    A bicycle classifies as a vehicle so bicyclists need to adhere to all traffic laws, like stopping for a red light.
    c.
    It’s illegal to text while driving in Georgia. There doesn’t seem to be a specification about if the vehicle is still or moving so one should error on the safe side and not do it when in the driver’s seat.
    d.
    It’s illegal to use a center turning lane as a merge lane.  Basically you cannot be in the lane for more than 300 feet so don’t get in it too soon or stay too long, just enough length to get into and make a turn.
  3. In South Carolina (Hilton Head specifically) it is illegal to store trash inside your car.  I cannot find a minimum level that is acceptable so it might mean that even an empty fast food wrapper or cup could get you a ticket so be careful!
police car lights

How do these very specific unique laws come to be?  Laws protect our general safety, and ensure our rights as citizens against abuses by other people, by organizations, and by the government itself. We have laws to help provide for our general safety. These exist at the local, state and national levels, and include things like: Laws about what to do when you see flashing lights.   

Are you aware of the Move Over Laws?  Every state has some sort of law on the books in an effort to keep emergency workers safe and we at Classic Collision are so glad because it saves lives and reduces the number of accidents. Here is our understanding of what you need to do in GA, AL and SC when you see flashing lights.

  1. GA Move Over Law – you need to move over a lane for all police cars, assistance vehicles (emergency types like fire, ambulance and towing), road construction and garbage trucks.  If heavy traffic will not let you move over you need to slow down to 10 mph below the speed limit.  
  2. AL Move Over Law states that when an emergency vehicle is using any visual signal, is stopped or parked next to or on the roadway, drivers need to make a lane change or if unable to do so need to slow down to a reasonable speed in accordance with conditions.
  3. SC Move Over Law requires drivers to move over for all stopped emergency vehicles (ambulance, fire, police), towing vehicles and emergency personnel. It is also known as the Emergency Scenes law. The South Carolina Code #56-5-1538 states that, an emergency scene is a special hazard and is a “location designated by the potential need to provide emergency medical care and is identified by emergency vehicles with flashing lights, rescue equipment, or emergency personnel on the scene.”  Basically, if the vehicle has flashing lights, drivers should move over.
safety cones

A good tip to avoid an accident and/or getting a ticket is to do a search of the unique laws in the state you are moving to or driving in.  Then you won’t be caught off guard and unaware, and you might even be slightly entertained. We hope these traffic law tidbits help you stay accident and ticket free.  But if you ever do need an auto body shop, you know how to find us at Classic Collision Centers! Enjoy driving in this part of the country because it’s beautiful!